ExpressVPN on Linux

I tried to install ExpressVPN on my Ubuntu Gnome, and I was following the “how to” guide by ExpressVPN, and got some issues. Luckily I found this thread https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2342534

To view the server list, simply enter the following in terminal: expressvpn list

netshinobi@netshinobiug:~$ expressvpn list | less
ALIAS   COUNTRY                                  LOCATION                         RECOMMENDED
-----   ---------------                          ------------------------------   -----------
smart   Smart Location                           USA - New York                   Y
usny    United States (US)                       USA - New York                   Y
usla                                             USA - Los Angeles                Y
usch                                             USA - Chicago                    Y
usny2                                            USA - New York - 2 
...
...

Once you selected your server, to connect enter the following: expressvpn connect <server-alias>

Let’s say that I want to connect to Atlanta

netshinobi@netshinobiug:~$ expressvpn connect usat
Connecting to USA - Atlanta... 100.0%
Connected.
netshinobi@netshinobiug:~$

To check the status of the vpn, type-in: expressvpn status

netshinobi@netshinobiug:~$ expressvpn status
Connected to USA - Atlanta
netshinobi@netshinobiug:

To disconnect, just type in expressvpn disconnect

netshinobi@netshinobiug:~$ expressvpn disconnect 
Disconnecting...
Disconnected.
netshinobi@netshinobiug:~$

Or you can check the man page: man expressvpn

Cheers!

About networkshinobi

This blog is about the things I learned about computers and networking to help me to remember them as I push further my studies. I created this blog to help myself to continue my education; and if you find this blog helpful for your studies, that is great. That is one of the reasons why I made this blog, to share my interest and knowledge. Also, all the entries/posts I made are based on my views, opinion and for educational purposes only. If you see some mistakes, feel free to drop some comments. I would appreciate all the helpful comments. Thanks
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

