VMware Fusion 7 Pro to ESXi Host and vCenter

Alright, this is going to be a quick post. I have a micro server that I purchased back in 2014. This micro server is HP Proliant N54L. I have installed ESXi 5.1 on this server to host my servers, which I never used. 

Anyways, I re-IP’d my network to make it more modular, and somehow, I forgot to put a default gateway to the ESXi host. This was during when I was troubleshooting my slow Internet speed on the SRX, re-configuring my ASA5505, etc.

When I connected to my network, I could not reach the ESXi host or my guest Windows VM. I could connect to it over layer2, but not layer3. I knew what was the problem, but I had more important things to do, so I put it on hold. I don’t really use Windows machine anymore except for work, so I do not have a Windows machine I can use open vSphere thick client.

After tickering around with VMware Fusion, I found out that that Fusion 7 Pro can console to the guest VMs hosted by my ESXi server. Apparently, this is only feasible with VMware Fusion 7 Pro and newer Pro versions of Fusion.

To do this, navigate to File > Connect to Server as shown in Figure 1.

fusion figure1

Figure 1

Then a window will pop-up. From here, you would need to enter the IP address or hostname of your ESXi host or vCenter in the Server field the your login credentials to the Username/Password field boxes

fusion figure2

Figure 2

Once you’re able to logon then you will see your ESXi guest VMs in Fusion Virtual Machine Library window under the IP address or hostname of your ESXi as shown in Figure 3 and Figure 4. Once you are connected, you are able to access the VMs hosted on your ESXi host.

fusion figure4

Figure 3

fusion figure3

Figure 4

 

Hope you find this post helpful,

Cheers!

 

About networkshinobi

This blog is about the things I learned about computers and networking to help me to remember them as I push further my studies. I created this blog to help myself to continue my education; and if you find this blog helpful for your studies, that is great. That is one of the reasons why I made this blog, to share my interest and knowledge. Also, all the entries/posts I made are based on my views, opinion and for educational purposes only. If you see some mistakes, feel free to drop some comments. I would appreciate all the helpful comments. Thanks
This entry was posted in Misc., vmware and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

