GNS3 Qemu and OSX Yosemite – Part 2

I am assuming the reason you are reading this is that the Part 1 did not work. I am hoping that this one will.

If the .vmdk image display some information such as below (The sample below has been converted to .vdi)

sudo /Applications/GNS3.app/Contents/Resources/qemu/bin/qemu-img info filename.vdi 
image: filename.vdi
file format: vdi
virtual size: 2.0G (2147483648 bytes)
disk size: 115M
cluster_size: 1048576

Then you are good to go. However, If you are getting this message, that means that qemu version does not support VMDK Sparse.

/Application/GNS3/Contents/Resources/qemu/bin/qemu-img info filename.vmdk
qemu-img: Could not open ‘filename.vmdk'

Then follow the 6 steps below:
1. Install VirtualBox.
2. Convert the .vmdk disk into the .vdi intermediate format: (where filename is the name of the vmdk file)

cd /Applications/VirtualBox.app/Contents/MacOS/
sudo VBoxManage clonehd /Users/NetworkShinobi/Desktop/filename.vmdk --format VDI filename.vdi

3. Since I forgot to specify the location of the output, VBoxManage save the newly converted file in /Applications/VirtualBox.app/Contents/MacOS/. I can verify this by using the command below:

pwd
/Applications/VirtualBox.app/Contents/MacOS
ls | grep filename.vdi
filename.vdi

4. Copy the file from /Applications/VirtualBox.app/Contents/MacOS/filename.vdi to /Users/username/GNS3/images or your images location. In my case:

sudo cp /Applications/VirtualBox.app/Contents/MacOS/filename.vdi /Users/username/GNS3/images/

5. Navigate to the location of the .vdi file then press command + i to open the file information.

Figure 1

Figure 1

6. On the lower right corner, unlock the pad-lock icon as shown in Figure 1 above; then press the + sign to add yourself with read/write permission as shown in Figure 2 below. Close the Get Info window.

Figure 2

Figure 2

At this point, the qemu that came with GNS3 should be able to read the virtual hard drive.

About networkshinobi

This blog is about the things I learned about computers and networking to help me to remember them as I push further my studies. I created this blog to help myself to continue my education; and if you find this blog helpful for your studies, that is great. That is one of the reasons why I made this blog, to share my interest and knowledge. Also, all the entries/posts I made are based on my views, opinion and for educational purposes only. If you see some mistakes, feel free to drop some comments. I would appreciate all the helpful comments. Thanks BTC: 14wVPFBWNAKmfNsgUrPpw8EytkXFLjxYoU ETH: 0x8528793dF77a57186f5B15dA6DC1eaA3c5e92c4a LTC : LMpW2rGYnYdUwvnHA4huB6TGcPEEc1JzXw
This entry was posted in GNS3, Misc. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to GNS3 Qemu and OSX Yosemite – Part 2

  1. Pingback: vSRX via GNS3 Qemu (OSX Yosemite) | Blog about networking and some random stuff

  2. Kunle says:

    good stuff mate..worked for me easy! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

