GNS3 Qemu and OSX Yosemite – Part 1

Yesterday was the day I started messing around with GNS3. I found the problem very quickly that I couldn’t run vIOS L2 on my Macbook Pro. Since it was pretty late night, and I was really tired from work. I put it on-hold and went to bed. I had a dream. In my dreams, I was able to run the vIOS L2 on my MBP, and I was labbing the INE topology then I woke up this morning and realized that it was just a dream.

Anyways, I had been troubleshooting my GNS3 to run the vIOS L2 via qemu. I was able to upload the .vmdk to GNS3, and I can turn it on, but I could not console to it. It seemed like qemu was not running at all. Therefore, I checked my Activity Monitor to see if there were some CPU spike; unfortunately, there were no CPU spike, which tells me one thing – qemu was not reading the .vmdk file.

After for Googling for several hours, I could not find a solution. All I could find were related to either Windows or Linux problems, no OSX. It got me thinking, may be my vIOS L2 was corrupted, so I installed GNS3 v1.3.3 on my Windows machine, and ran the very same vIOS L2. It worked. I was able to console in to it. This pretty much tells me that the .vmdk file is good.

I fired up the OSX “Console” to see the system logs. It says that qemu-img: could not open /Users/NetworkShinobi/GNS3/images/vIOS/vios-adventerprisesk9-m-disk1.vmdk. The problem is the qemu that came with GNS3 v1.3.3 for OSX. Therefore, I downloaded the latest Qemu, and installed it. The version that I downloaded is this QEMU-2.1.1-GNS3-OSX.zip

Unzip the the .zip file

unzip ~/Downloads/QEMU-2.1.1-GNS3-OSX.zip

Then navigate to the folder then execute the install file.

cd ~/Downloads/QEMU-2.1.1-GNS3-OSX
./Qinstall

This script will or should place all the necessary files to run qemu in OSX to specific folder, which are:
/usr/local/bin/
/usr/local/lib/
/user/local/share/
Now, after you run the script, make sure that all the files are in there. If not you can just copy the contents of the install folder to those location.

Open GNS3 and navigate to:
GNS3 > Preferences > QEMU VMs, and change qemu path to /usr/local/bin/qemu-system-x86_64. At this point, hopefully, you are able to launch your qemu. If not, then read the part 2.

About networkshinobi

This blog is about the things I learned about computers and networking to help me to remember them as I push further my studies. I created this blog to help myself to continue my education; and if you find this blog helpful for your studies, that is great. That is one of the reasons why I made this blog, to share my interest and knowledge. Also, all the entries/posts I made are based on my views, opinion and for educational purposes only. If you see some mistakes, feel free to drop some comments. I would appreciate all the helpful comments. Thanks
This entry was posted in GNS3, Misc. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

