Juniper SRX100H2 as your home router

Hello Folks,

I have Verizon FIOS, and their ActioTec MI424WR wireless router. Since I wanted to use my own router instead of the FIOS router Verizon had provided, I would need to change the mode of the ActioTec router into bridge mode, which I did several years ago.

I have been using my Cisco ASA 5505 as my firewall/router to the Internet for several years now, and I recently started working on Juniper SRX at work. I decided to purchase an SRX100H2 to replace my ASA 5505 that I have at home. I thought this is going to be the best time to do this since I have been planning to change my VLAN and IP address scheme.

First thing first, I got to make sure that the SRX is able to connect to the Internet. I configured the SRX’ fe-0/0/0 to be the untrust interface, and two interfaces that are in LACP trunk to my Cisco switch.

The topology looks like this

Figure 1

Figure 1

Since I don’t have a static public IP address, I had to configure my SRX fe-0/0/0 interface to be a DHCP client. IGMP also needed on the untrust interface and should be allowed under host-inbound-traffic.

networkshinobi@BFWSRX> show configuration interfaces fe-0/0/0  
unit 0 {
 description "TO THE INTERNET";
 family inet {
 dhcp-client {
 update-server;
 }
 }
}
networkshinobi@BFWSRX> show configuration security zones security-zone untrust 
screen untrust-screen;
interfaces {
 fe-0/0/0.0 {
 host-inbound-traffic {
 system-services {
 dhcp;
 ping;
 ike;
 https;
 }
 protocols {
 igmp;
 }
 }
 }
}
networkshinobi@BFWSRX> show configuration protocols igmp 
interface fe-0/0/0.0;

After configuring the interface as a DHCP client, protocol, and host-inbound, I had to phone Verizon customer support to release my DHCP lease, so that the SRX would be able to ask an IP address 🙂

Figure 2: Pinged Google from the SRX

About networkshinobi

This blog is about the things I learned about computers and networking to help me to remember them as I push further my studies. I created this blog to help myself to continue my education; and if you find this blog helpful for your studies, that is great. That is one of the reasons why I made this blog, to share my interest and knowledge. Also, all the entries/posts I made are based on my views, opinion and for educational purposes only. If you see some mistakes, feel free to drop some comments. I would appreciate all the helpful comments. Thanks
This entry was posted in Juniper, Misc. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

