GNS3 v1.2.3 VPCS not working on OSX

Today, I was testing some stuff, and instead of using another router disabled routing which would eat up some resources on my laptop. I thought of using VPCS which came in with GNS3. Since VPCS takes up very little memory, and all I want is to have hosts that can receive IP addresses, can ping, etc. It seems like VPCS is the best choice, for my laptop which is MBA mid 2012.

When I dropped a VPCS on my GNS3 canvas, I got an error message stating This node isn’t initialized. vpcs_based_config.txt could not be found. I checked the location of the supposed to be config of VPCS. I found no .txt in the folder.

I opened the GNS3 > Preference > VPCS > Path to VPCS base script file and pasted this location.

/Applications/GNS3.app/Contents/Resources/configs/vpcs_base_config.txt

At this point, I got the VPCS working. I am able to console to the VPCS 🙂

Figure 1 VPCS console options

Figure 1
VPCS console options

About networkshinobi

This blog is about the things I learned about computers and networking to help me to remember them as I push further my studies. I created this blog to help myself to continue my education; and if you find this blog helpful for your studies, that is great. That is one of the reasons why I made this blog, to share my interest and knowledge. Also, all the entries/posts I made are based on my views, opinion and for educational purposes only. If you see some mistakes, feel free to drop some comments. I would appreciate all the helpful comments. Thanks BTC: 14wVPFBWNAKmfNsgUrPpw8EytkXFLjxYoU ETH: 0x8528793dF77a57186f5B15dA6DC1eaA3c5e92c4a LTC : LMpW2rGYnYdUwvnHA4huB6TGcPEEc1JzXw
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

