GNS3 v1.2.1 IOU could not connect to GNS3 devices

So, I downloaded GNS3 v1.2.1, and loving the new UI. I got my IOU and it is working the way it supposed to work; however, I noticed that I could not connect it to any of GNS3 devices, such as routers, Ethernet switches, etc… As shown in my screenshots below. I was getting an error messages stating Server 192.168.56.101 cannot communicate with server 127.0.0.1, most likely because your local server host binding is set to a local address. Also, unable to use Wireshark on IOU devices between IOUs, the error message Cannot start Wireshark: the /home/gns3/GNS3/projects/gns3 … capture file does not exist on this host.

Figure 1  Wireshark error between IOUs

Figure 1
Wireshark error between IOUs

Figure 2  Error message connecting IOU and an Ethernet switch

Figure 2
Error message connecting IOU and an Ethernet switch

Figure 3  Error message when connecting an IOU to a router

Figure 3
Error message when connecting an IOU to a router

To resolve this issue, navigate to Preference > GNS3 server > Local server > Host binding drop-down menu select 192.168.56.101 the click Ok

Figure 4  GNS3 settings

Figure 4
GNS3 settings

Once you made the changes, you would be able to connect your IOU to GNS3 devices; however, you won’t be able to capture the packets between two IOUs. The resolution to this is to put a switch or a hub between the two IOUs as shown below.

Figure 5 IOU is able to connect to a router and switch. To packet capture to work between IOUs, you must add a switch or a hub between the IOUs.

Figure 5
IOU is able to connect to a router and switch.
To packet capture to work between IOUs, you must add a switch or a hub between the IOUs.

About networkshinobi

This blog is about the things I learned about computers and networking to help me to remember them as I push further my studies. I created this blog to help myself to continue my education; and if you find this blog helpful for your studies, that is great. That is one of the reasons why I made this blog, to share my interest and knowledge. Also, all the entries/posts I made are based on my views, opinion and for educational purposes only. If you see some mistakes, feel free to drop some comments. I would appreciate all the helpful comments. Thanks
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GNS3 v1.2.1 IOU could not connect to GNS3 devices

  1. happyman says:

    thanks ,its worked

  2. Sanket Bhatia says:

    Great work Dude.. Thanks for help

Leave a Reply

