Installing Dynamic DNS “No-IP” on Fedora 18

If your IP address at your home is dynamic (most likely it is) and you would like to access your server over the internet, It can be done, but you have to remember your public IP address. Yes, you can remember your IP address, but eventually it will change. The best way to get around this is to use a dynamic DNS.

I chose No-IP because it can be installed on Linux machine. I have downloaded Fedora 18 32bit, and installed it on my ESXi for one purpose only–just to update my IP address. First you would need to create an free account at http://www.noip.com. Here is the link on how to setup your account: http://goo.gl/Vpw03 and if you prefer a video here it is: http://goo.gl/q1yVi

Now, once you have your account fully setup, you would need a host to update your no-ip database record. In my case, I am using Fedora 18. Open your terminal and type in:

[networkshinobi@localhost ~]$ su
Password: <enter-your-password-here>
[root@localhost networkshinobi]# yum install noip
<installation deleted for brevity>
[root@localhost networkshinobi]# noip2 -C

Now, if you received this message below after using the command “noip2 -C“,  then you would need to install “glibc.i686“. To do so just use the command: yum install glibc.i686 then you should good to go.

bash: /usr/local/bin/noip2: /lib/ld-linux.so.2: bad ELF interpreter: No such file or directory

Now, to continue our installation.

[root@localhost networkshinobi]# noip2 -C

Auto configuration for Linux client of no-ip.com.

Please enter the login/email string for no-ip.com <your-email-address>
Please enter the password for user 'your-email-address' <your-password>

Only one host [your-domain-name] is registered to this account.
It will be used.
Please enter an update interval:[30] 30
Do you wish to run something at successful update?[N] (y/N) N

New configuration file '/usr/local/etc/no-ip2.conf' created.

That’s pretty much it.
To see the status if it is active use the command noip2 -S

Have a great day!

 

About networkshinobi

This blog is about the things I learned about computers and networking to help me to remember them as I push further my studies. I created this blog to help myself to continue my education; and if you find this blog helpful for your studies, that is great. That is one of the reasons why I made this blog, to share my interest and knowledge. Also, all the entries/posts I made are based on my views, opinion and for educational purposes only. If you see some mistakes, feel free to drop some comments. I would appreciate all the helpful comments. Thanks
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

