TFTP for Mac OSX Mountain Lion

I could not make the SecureCRT built-in TFTP server to work.  Therefore, I downloaded the TftpServer.app, and installed it on my MBA 10.8.2.
I changed the default directory to my desire directory, as you can see at the bottom of Figure 1.  To change the directory, click the Change Path button.

Figure 1

Once the desire path is selected, make sure that the default TFTP directory has read/write permission for everyone.  Click the folder once then press Command + I.  Expand the Sharing & Permission and make sure that the everyone group has Read/Write privilege.

Click the red Fix botton for Working path permissions: (not shown in Figure 2).  If needed click the Fix botton for Parent folders permissions.

Figure 2

To start the TFTP server, simply click the Start TFTP botton.  Make sure you can ping the other device,  In my case is my Cisco router.

Here is the thing, by default it will give an error message “%Error opening tftp://…” even you have the firewall permitting the tftpserver application.  See Example 1 below.

Router#
Router#
Router#copy flash:c1841-adventerprisek9-mz.151-4.M.bin tftp://192.168.1.17
Address or name of remote host [192.168.1.17]? 
Destination filename [c1841-adventerprisek9-mz.151-4.M.bin]? 
%Error opening tftp://192.168.1.17/c1841-adventerprisek9-mz.151-4.M.bin (Socket error)
Router#
Router#

Example 1

The solution to this error message:
Click the Create File botton on the TftpServer; and enter the whole file name on the box field and de-select the Set file create to (see Figure 3) then click the refresh botton, and you should see the new created file.

Figure 3

Now, enter the copy files again from the network device (in my case is my Cisco router).  See Example 2.
You will see the file you have created on the Tftpserver, it size is slowly increasing.

Router#
*Oct 19 22:20:48.179: %SYS-5-CONFIG_I: Configured from console by consolecopy
Router#copy flash tftp
Source filename [c1841-adventerprisek9-mz.151-4.M.bin]? 
Address or name of remote host []? 192.168.1.17
Destination filename [c1841-adventerprisek9-mz.151-4.M.bin]? 
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
47291520 bytes copied in 191.680 secs (246721 bytes/sec)
Router#

Example 2

The exclamation signs simple means that we have successfully copied the file from the router to MBA.

Now, copying from Tftpserver to device should work as well.

Hope this helps

About networkshinobi

This blog is about the things I learned about computers and networking to help me to remember them as I push further my studies. I created this blog to help myself to continue my education; and if you find this blog helpful for your studies, that is great. That is one of the reasons why I made this blog, to share my interest and knowledge. Also, all the entries/posts I made are based on my views, opinion and for educational purposes only. If you see some mistakes, feel free to drop some comments. I would appreciate all the helpful comments. Thanks
This entry was posted in Misc.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

